Too Chill for My Own Good

And the beauty of female friendships

Chill

It *might* be possible to be "too chill," - but I don't think so.

At least not for me (and I'm guessing the same is true for many women).

When I think back to what I used to do when my kids were young, it kind of exhausts me (very grateful I had my children when I did).

Mind you, at the time I thrived on being as busy and productive as possible.

I was still of the mindset that my value and worth were connected to how much I could accomplish and that rest needed to be "earned" as opposed to taking it when we needed OR wanted it.

Not anymore.

These days I feel a bit like Spiccoli 😂 (hat tip to Fast Times at Ridgemont High).

Spiccoli

O.K., not quite like that, but that was the first image that came to mind when I thought about the title for this issue (side note: when I searched 'chillin' in Giphy, most of the images were of men. #notacoincident).

This might all seem a bit contrary after last week's newsletter, where I shared that I was borrowing trouble about selling my car in Costa Rica. However, as soon as I took the pressure off myself (by extending my stay), I heard back from the first guy.

He contacted me this past weekend, we agreed on the price, and we're going to the lawyer next Monday to take care of the paperwork.

Now that I'm on the other side of my little dramedy, I feel a bit like a boss.

A little extra confidence and a smidge cocky that I was able to turn this around so quickly.

The "too chill for my own good" is because I feel so relaxed about everything (at least for now). 

In the midst of getting ready for this move, I have my childhood best friend visiting (her third time here in a year. Safe to say she likes Costa Rica).

And we're completely taking it easy and going with the flow. 

In looking at the last month, when I flew back to California for Christmas and then back to Costa Rica to get ready to move, I feel like I've experienced a peaceful level of growth, unlike anything I've experienced before.

Nothing that would be visible to anyone else, but a deep sense of knowing and internal trust that feels pretty freaking fantastic.

Hence feeling like a boss (and a little too chill).

Having my friend here has probably amplified that feeling because she's pretty easygoing (we've decided we're going to take a week-long vacation every year, just the two of us). 

We've spent time socializing, going to the beach, having a fun afternoon with friends, and getting massages. 

And with all of the things we've done - I've probably enjoyed the time sitting on the couch and catching up the most (she created an agenda of topics we needed to talk about, so we wouldn't forget 🤣). 

I'm sitting at my desk inside writing this; she's outside floating in the pool while my dogs hang out with her.

My female friendships have always been vitally important to me. I've known some of my dearest friends in California since elementary school and high school.

The older I get, the more I treasure these friendships, as well as the newer friendships I've developed as an adult. When I get to spend quality time with women I love and respect, my heart is full and my soul feels at peace.

If you haven't seen it yet, this image of Jamie Lee Curtis cheering when her friend, Michelle Yeoh, won a Golden Globe sums up the beauty of female friendships:

Jamie Lee Curtis cheering for Michelle Yeoh

When you find friends who can hold space for you in whatever way you need, hang onto them for life.

I'll end this week's newsletter with a favorite quote:

Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.

Marcel Proust

Â